Parents Evening (T8 and PPC)

A happy blog to start the first teaching day of term off….

During my mentor meeting, we went through some of the targets from before the break, one of which was to prepare for a Y7 parents evening which took place just before term ended.

Talking about it again reminded me how buzzy I was during and after – I really enjoyed meeting parents, being able to talk about their children in depth, and understanding more about the journey that each of them comes into school from. At the start of the year I shared the class with my mentor and another teacher who helped me get into it, but were so encouraging in pushing me to take the lead on dialogue with parents, commenting that I was able to make insightful and personalised comments about the individual children – which in turn indicated a high level of responsibility that I have taken to understand their progress and targets. It was so rewarding to know that our lessons had made an impact on the pupils, and I was really encouraged to hear that the pupils have been using and sharing our class specific blog with their parents.

In particular, I enjoyed speaking with the parents of 1 child, who is very bright and engaged in class, a natural leader and enquirer, and who makes intelligent contributions with enthusiasm. I felt that I had lots of evidence to share about his progress, and so was surprised to hear that he’d previously professed English to be his least favourite subject, and one that he lacked motivation toward. His parents were really positive about his change in attitude and increased enjoyment of the subject in Y7. Goofy high-five moment? Yes. Definitely.

On the flip side, but also rewarding, was the opportunity to communicate with a different set of parents with the help of a HOD. They wrote to me expressing concern over their daughter’s misunderstanding about the PLC2 project. I’m really glad they took the time, and felt confident about explaining and unpacking the situation professionally to the parents. My mentor and the HOD were satisfied that they were well informed and I had a chance to chat to the pupil too. She later commented on the blog asking for additional help, which I was happy to do. Actually a few pupils from different classes did this during the break – more evidence to suggest that using it as a central access point for homework and questioning is time well spent.

About Charis Victoria

It's all home-ed home-stead up here in Newcastle UK. Writing about growing all sorts of things (yet more kale, little hearts and minds, a relationship with God, a city church) and wondering how this all happened - wasn't I meant to be a foreign correspondent?!

Please share your thoughts...

Goodreads

Style Baby Style

Follow me here at StyleBabyStyle.com

Me and the minis

A little bit about me

I'm training as a teacher on the School Direct route. It's new this year and puts me in the classroom more than a traditional PGCE. I'm also training for a marathon and really enjoy running. But not so much in winter. I've been blessed with a gorgeous hub and 2 awesome kids who are 3 and 1 and being total dudes about me going back to work full-time. And that is pretty much that.
