Quotation Donation

I had to share this as I had so much fun putting it together and working it in the classroom with a Y9 middle ability group,. We’d been working on 2 poems with poverty themes, although very different contexts (Indian drought vs South African Apartheid). The next lesson was going to teach ‘Compare and Contrast.’

Quotation Donation

I started by giving each child a fake dollar and a post-it in the line up outside. When the lesson began and we got ‘I need a dollar’ pumping, they had to work back through their poems to decide which poet presented the strongest impression of poverty, and write a quote to support their deduction on the post it. With pictures of each poet on opposite sides of the board, the class then came forward to stick their post it on the relevant side, and their dollar in the relevant tin. We had a class count up, and used the post it’s to scaffold PEED paragraphs later in the lesson.

On a student voice survey I gave out, this ranked pretty high, so I’m hoping to use it again somehow.

About Charis Victoria

It's all home-ed home-stead up here in Newcastle UK. Writing about growing all sorts of things (yet more kale, little hearts and minds, a relationship with God, a city church) and wondering how this all happened - wasn't I meant to be a foreign correspondent?!

Please share your thoughts...

Goodreads

Style Baby Style

Follow me here at StyleBabyStyle.com

Me and the minis

A little bit about me

I'm training as a teacher on the School Direct route. It's new this year and puts me in the classroom more than a traditional PGCE. I'm also training for a marathon and really enjoy running. But not so much in winter. I've been blessed with a gorgeous hub and 2 awesome kids who are 3 and 1 and being total dudes about me going back to work full-time. And that is pretty much that.
