*sparkle* an obs week gem

Although teaching Wednesday to Friday, I found that my practice really benefitted from being in a focussed school environment for the full week. As well as watching some experts at work, I was on the look out for top tips on how to manage and maximise classroom time. A winning gem included…

A focussed, low resource starter with productive output that can be sown into the remainder of the lesson as scaffolding, thus providing the teacher with breathing space to set the lesson up, order reosurces and switch into this lesson, which in my case below, was the third in a row.

With 9e2 I pre-prepared a technique card sort, with a blank card to stretch and challenge the early finishers, and an additional ranking instruction for the truly bright to have a go out, securing myself a steady 6 minutes to get plugged in, PowerPointed up and prepared. Less flustered teacher = smoother more settled class. WIN! I need a repertoire of ‘bells’ now that don’t require being plugged in. I remember using a pack of picture cards with a mentoring group of teen girls I worked with a while ago. I used to ask them to choose one and either relate themselves to it, or link it to a situation, or even one another – so am going to develop this idea. Actually, I might use this as the foundation of my emotional intelligence series of lessons for PLC2. Hmmmm!

About Charis Victoria

It's all home-ed home-stead up here in Newcastle UK. Writing about growing all sorts of things (yet more kale, little hearts and minds, a relationship with God, a city church) and wondering how this all happened - wasn't I meant to be a foreign correspondent?!

Please share your thoughts...

Goodreads

Style Baby Style

Follow me here at StyleBabyStyle.com

Me and the minis

A little bit about me

I'm training as a teacher on the School Direct route. It's new this year and puts me in the classroom more than a traditional PGCE. I'm also training for a marathon and really enjoy running. But not so much in winter. I've been blessed with a gorgeous hub and 2 awesome kids who are 3 and 1 and being total dudes about me going back to work full-time. And that is pretty much that.
